Zazzle-Etsy-Spoonflower-Blah

I’ve tried selling things on Etsy, Zazzle, Spoonflower, and on my own websites.  I’ve even done eBay. My efforts have been met with limited success.  I keep plugging away, and have a fantasy of one day being able to make enough money to at least support my hobby, though I’d much rather be able to quit my day job.

Today, someone I follow on Twitter posted about having made her 1,000th sale on Etsy.  I congratulated her, then slowly felt my mood sink.

It’s so damn hard to keep trying and trying and trying when no one appears to take an interest.  I’ve gone through highly productive phases when I’m adding dozens of products a day to the various sites, and been able to keep my energy up in order to promote my items.  Then, when nothing happens, my mood drops, as it has tonight, and I lose all enthusiasm, for selling, for promoting, but, most importantly, for creating.

Though I’m also an artist, lately my passion has been about repurposing the many, MANY items people leave in the alley behind my house.  It’s fun to me to find a new use for drawers, doors, and especially the bottles my friends and co-workers bring me.  It just sucks to get so excited about something I’ve done, like an actor who’s just given what they believe to be a breakthrough performance…only to be met by the sounds of crickets.

My love of being creative will win me over again, and I’ll resume painting, drawing, designing, etc. at some point.  And I don’t mean to sound like I’m whining.  Yes, there are so many more important things and great suffering going on in the world.  But we all want our efforts to be appreciated.

So tonight, blah.

3 thoughts on “Zazzle-Etsy-Spoonflower-Blah

  1. Paula says:

    Have you approached shop owners in your area that specialize in “green” products? Your repurposed pieces are very cute and whimsical, almost shabby chic-ish. I have a friend who makes art and discouraged her from selling her stuff on Etsy. (You become a little fish in a massive ocean.) Instead, I helped her create a personal website and market her stuff on Facebook. She also does craft shows and has seen a huge increase in her sales since the site went live in December. Check it out! http://www.karmacatchers.com

  2. truefinds says:

    I own a couple of vintage clothing stores. Okay, my daughter and I do, and she is the boss, but the point is that she is always looking for attractive accessories that are made locally from vintage materials, I understand that your art may not quite fit what I mean (your material may not actually be vintage nor does it look like it would be a clothing accessory such as a necklace or a purse or a hair clip), but maybe you’d like to try something along that line. But otherwise, many small stores love to get well-made and interesting locally made items if they are reasonably priced. Good luck with your sales!

Leave a Reply

